African Artist Development [AAD]

Hi guys,

Often times, I’ve found that African artistes I  appreciate, confine their musical talents to the stages in their homelands, and pretty much that of their neighbouring countries. This has been reiterated to me, on several occassions where I’ve played music by local heavyweights , only for Kai to ask who is that. In actuality, their talents should be noted on an international scale, hence easily identifiable. Over a span of two years since the launch of this project, I have come to the realization that I am particuarly interested in artiste [music] development and management.


My aim, is to widen the artistes scope of business in the African music industry currently brimming with untapped opportunities, waiting to be fully explored through a three point system, that seeks to elevate the artiste beyond continental borders. This system will involve three  critical levels in an artiste’s career: local exposure, regional exposure, and global exposure. To facilitate the mentioned, strategic partnerships with industry affiliates, distributors, sponsors, record labels, will be established.

The most important aspect of our relationship, will be cultivating your talent without undermining  your freedom of expression, which essentially is your artform. Rest assured, I’m very serious about this direction I’m taking. I do realize the incredulousness of what I’ve just presented to ya’ll! I also do realize that this may not make a licking sense. However, what I do know is that I’m embarking on an amazing project. 

If you are an African artist, established or rising, willing to take a risk with this chick, please email me at: fifty4interviews@yahoo.com for further discussionIn the subject line, write ‘A&R’. Serious inquiries only, all others will be ignored.  It takes a village to nurture talent!

Sincerely,

Ms.EY

2 comments on “African Artist Development [AAD]

  1. Damn girl! You make me wish I was African and could sing. I’d work with you. Shit, you’re more serious and genuine than most of these Assholes in the industry. I was watching Toni’s behind the music last night and got the 411 on how fucked up the biz really is. Tsk! tsk! That’s a damn shame, but happy to hear this and wishing you the best of luck, girl.

    • The music industry, especially in the more developed markets such as the U.S. can be brutal and is often wrought in shady dealings. Many artists come in with a creative mindset, and absolutely zero business sense about the industry. I, too watched the Toni doc yesternight, and it was disheartening to learn that despite all the millions, effort, and hardwork her paycheck was a paltry sum. That’s why it is important to have the right team, that is willing and capable to broker/negotiate, deals/contracts on your behalf. It would also behoove interested parties, to research and study the business before diving in,

      Thanks by the way for the kind words and constant support. You’ve been holding us down for a good minute mama!! ‘Preciate dat.

Leave a Reply

